Premier League logos

English Premier League

Premier League

The English Premier League also just known as the Premier League. It is the top level of English football league system. The league is contested by 20 teams, operates on promotion and relegation with the English football league (EFL).

It was formed as the FA Premier League in 1992 AD following the decision of teams to break away from the Football League, which was founded in 1888 AD. The Premier League is a corporation in which the member clubs act as shareholders. The full season runs from August to May with each team playing 38 matches (playing all 19 other teams both home and away). And the top team with the highest points in total wins the League after 38 games.


In 1992, all the First Division clubs resigned from the Football League and in May 1992 the FA Premier League was formed. Among all the teams competing in this competition only 6 teams have won the Premier League. The winners are Manchester United, Arsenal, Chelsea, Manchester City, Blackburn Rovers and Leicester City. Manchester United leads the way with 13 titles in their name.

One significant feature of the Premier League in the 2000s was the dominance of the “Top Four” clubs Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Manchester United. During this decade, they dominated the top four spots, which came with UEFA Champions League qualification. As every season during the 2000s the “Top Four” clubs always qualifying for European competition. In 2003-04  season, Arsenal acquired the nickname “The Invincibles” as they became the first club to complete a Premier League campaign without losing a single game. This is the only time it has ever happened in the Premier League.

As years passed by the “Big Four” changed to “Big Six”. It changed to “Big Six” as Tottenham hotspur and Manchester City gave competition for the Top four spot every year from 2009. Since the formation of Big Six, no side has won consecutive titles. Since the Big Six formed no one has been able to dominate the League. It has always been a different winner each year from 2010. Since there is only four spots for UEFA champion League qualification, the competition is tough. And it has been since 2010.

Competition Format


There are 20 clubs in the Premier League. In a full season (from August to May) each club plays the others twice, once at their home stadium and once at that of their opponents’. 38 games are played by each team. Teams receive 3 points for a win and 1 point for a draw. No points are awarded for a loss. Teams are placed by total points, then goal difference, and then goals scored. If still equal, teams are deemed to occupy the same position. If there is a tie for the championship, for relegation, or for qualification to other competitions, a play-off match at a neutral venue decides rank.

Promotion and Relegation

System of promotion and relegation happens between the Premier League and the EFL Championship. The 3 lowest ranked team in the Premier League gets relegated to EFL Championship. Whereas top 2 ranked team from EFL championship earns direct promotion to the Premier League. And the last spot for promotion is determined by a playoff match between 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th ranked team in EFL championship. The winner in the playoff match gets promoted.


List of Winners :

Premier League winners

Wins by clubs :

Premier League wins by clubs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *